What states are a part of the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC)? Are there plans to add more states any time soon?

What states are a part of the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact
Ask Hank
March 30, 2020 03:01 AM (GMT-04:00)
Ask Hank

Hank’s Response:

That’s a great question, but let’s start with some history. The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) is an agreement between states that will allow nurses who are licensed in one state to be able to practice in other states that are members of the compact.

The NLC was originally developed in 2000, and by 2015 it had grown to include 25 states. To help streamline the process for nurses, the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC) was implemented in 2018 and included licensure standards that were lacking in the original compact.

So, what does this mean for nurses? Nurses who currently practice in states with pending legislation do not have to do anything until the bills are passed. Once the state becomes a part of the eNLC, the state board will reach out to all nurses registered with the state. Nurses then will be required to ensure their permanent address is up to date with the state board in order to determine compact license eligibility.

You can find more information about the eNLC on the National Council of State Boards of Nursing’s website, Twitter page or Facebook page:

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing website



Keep those questions coming my way! I look forward to more questions from our nurses. Our goal is to make you successful. Please submit your questions here.

Until then always remember Florence Nightingale’s words: “I attribute my success to this - I never gave or took any excuse.”

Submit Your Questions

Bookmark and Share

Real Talk
"CCN has changed the way I look for and find jobs. It's as easy as looking and clicking on my phone. It’s a snap!" - Bob RN Columbus